Ten Must Reads of 2019

 

I started off aiming for 5 but that was far too difficult. To be honest, choosing 10 wasn’t easy either!

I have lost count of the number of books I have read this year. Books that have made me laugh, books that have made me cry, books that have been full adventure and books that have made me think deeply. The books I have chosen are ones that have stuck in my head for all sorts of reasons.

So, here we go, in no particular order!

1. Sonny and Me by Ross Sayers

This is life seen through the eyes of 2 high school boys in central Scotland and it is the most wonderful, funny, charming and heartwarming book I have ever read. An honest reflection of teenage life and the book I have passed around my friends the most. Absolutely brilliant.  (Definitely in the YA category!) 

2. The God of all Small Boys by Joseph Lamb

This is a beautiful story set in 1917 in Dundee which follows the story of 11 year old James when his dad goes off to fight in the war. It is a touching wee story that had me in tears more than once but was also full of humour and adventure.

3. Rumblestar by Abi Elphinstone

One of the most exciting adventures I have read this year and I could not put it down. So much so, I decided one June morning to walk the 6 and a half miles to work so that I could read and finish it on my way. I cannot wait for the next installment of The Unmapped Chronicles, Jungledrop to hit the shelves next year!

4. The Boy with the Butterfly Mind by Victoria Williamson

I have made no secret about how much I adored Victoria’s debut novel, The Fox Girl and the White Gazelle and her second novel was an another inspiring masterpiece. Told through the eyes of the 2 central characters, one with ADHD, it encourages the reader to show more understanding to others in their own lives. Very powerful.

5. Callum and the Mountain by Alan McClure

This book really blew me away. It is an intriguing and original book that is a beautiful and poetic piece of storytelling about our relationship with the spiritual and natural world. 

An astounding debut from Alan McClure that has lingered with me ever since I read it.

6. The Star Outside My Window by Onjali Rauf

This is most definitely the book that made me cry the most. It is a brave writer who tackles a subject as difficult as domestic abuse but Onjali Rauf has managed to create a beautiful, touching tale that is also full of fun and adventure. Inspiring, emotional and utterly beautiful.

7. A Pinch of Magic by Michelle Harrison

A fantastic magical adventure that had me hooked from the start.  It is an enchanting, magical, powerful story about family, resilience, determination and hope which I absolutely loved.  Looking forward to the next installment of the Widdershins sisters’ adventure when A Sprinkle of Sorcery is released next year.

8. Guardians of the Wild Unicorns by Lindsay Littleson

A school residential trip to the Scottish Highlands is the setting for this dark and gripping adventure. When Lewis and Rhona discover the existence of wild unicorns, the race is on to try and protect them. These are not your pink fluffy unicorns, these are wild, powerful animals which sets the scene for a magical yet thoroughly believable story.

9. The Darkdeep by Ally Condie and Brendan Reichs

An exciting and enthralling adventure about friendship and looking out for one another.  It is the epitome of childhood adventure with strange phenomenon, secret tunnels and mysterious creatures bringing back memories of watching films like The Goonies as a child.

A fun, heart-stopping adventure.

10. The Girl who Speaks Bear by Sophie Anderson

An exquisite, beautiful and poetic masterpiece. What more is there to say?

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Ten Must Reads of 2019”

Leave a comment